Disclosure: “If you decide to make a purchase through these links, Amazon will pay us a small commission for it. This doesn’t cost you anything additional. but this allows us to keep the rest of our content free, so thank you!”

Twitter Security & Privacy Settings

One of the biggest concerns when joining any Social Media site is our Privacy and Security. I’m not going to lie to you and tell you that you will be 100% secure online but there are steps you can take that will help secure your account, your identity and your personal information.

No matter where you are on Twitter, you can always access your Settings by clicking on your profile picture at the top right and clicking on Settings.

For this video, we will work in the Security and Privacy settings which you can find on the left.

From the top down, you can:

SECURITY

Login Verification

With this, you can add your cellphone number to receive a text code every time you login to your account.

Password Reset

Checking this will require you to enter your personal information before you can reset your password.

Log in with Code

This only works if Login Verification is unchecked. This feature gives you the ability to determine whether or not you will allow Twitter to send you a temporary login code in the event that you have forgotten your password.

Always Require a password means you will not be able to use a temporary code to log in with.

 

PRIVACY

Photo Tagging

This allows you to control who can tag you in photos.

 

Privacy

By default, all tweets are public. Checking this will allow you to make your Tweets private. If you have chosen to Protect your Tweets, you will have to approve Followers and only those who you have approved will be able to see all future Tweets. Keep in mind, Tweets that have been made prior to checking this may still be visible to the public.

 

Tweet Locations

This allows you to add your current location each time you make a Tweet. If you don’t want people knowing your locations, or have accidentally been including your location, you can click on ‘Delete all location information’ and the location on all of your past tweets will be deleted. This may take up to 30 minutes to take effect.

 

Discoverability

This allows/prevents others from being able to find you by searching your email address or phone number.

 

Personalization

Allows/Denies Twitter the abillity to tailor your suggested users to follow based on your website visits.

 

Promoted Content

Allows/Denies Twitter the ability to tailor ads based on information shared by ad partners.

 

Twitter for Teams

Allows you to control whether or not people can add you to their Twitter Teams. (Do you explain what Teams are anywhere?)

 

Direct Messages

This lets you allows anyone to send you a Private Message whether or not you follow them.

 

Once you are happy with your setting, click on ‘Save Changes’.

Pin It on Pinterest