How to Change Your Twitter Password

How to Change Your Twitter Password

One of the things that I recommend over and over again is to change your password every 3-6 months for your online accounts. I know, I know, it’s much easier for you if you can just use the same password all the time but it’s really not the safest thing to do.

Before you change your password I want to make some suggestions. Please do not use your birthday, anniversary, kids birthdays, social security number, house number, phone number or any other number that is associated with you. These sorts of numbers are the first things hackers will use to try to gain access to your account.

 

Begin by deciding what you would like your new password to be. Be sure it is safe and secure!

 

Go to your Settings by clicking on your profile picture at the top right.

On the left, click on ‘Password’.

If you know your current password, enter it in the ‘Current Password’ box. If you have forgotten your current password, click on ‘Forgot Password’ directly underneath the text box. This will take you to a screen to reset your password. Be sure the email address is correct as you will receive a password reset link to the email address associated with your account. Click, ‘Continue’. Check your email and follow instructions in that message.

 

Enter your new password in the ‘New Password’ box.

Re-enter your new password in the ‘Verify Password’ box.

*Before you click ‘Save Changes’, be sure to have your new password written down to keep in a safe place!

Click ‘Save Changes’

Deactivate Twitter Account and Reactivate

How to Deactivate Twitter Account and Reactivate it

There comes a time in your life where you just want to unplug for whatever the reason may be. For those times in your life you are able to deactivate your Social Media accounts and just take a break.

You can only deactivate your Twitter account from a computer. This option is not available from your phone or tablet.

From anywhere on Twitter, you can access your settings by clicking on your profile picture at the top right and click on Settings.

At the bottom of the page, click on ‘Deactivate my Account’.

Twitter will give you some bullet points about deactivation before confirming your decision. These are very important to read and understand before Deactivating.

One big thing to be aware of is that, if you do not Reactivate your account within 30 days, your account will be permanently deleted.

Confirm that you do want to deactivate. Twitter will prompt you for your Password. Enter your password and click Deactivate Account.

 

If you are within the 30 days of deactivating your account and you would like to reactivate it, go to twitter.com.

At the top right, click on Log In.

Enter the username and password for the account that you are reactivating just like you would normally. Enter your password one more time and you are now reactivated!

Twitter Security and Privacy Settings

Twitter Security & Privacy Settings

One of the biggest concerns when joining any Social Media site is our Privacy and Security. I’m not going to lie to you and tell you that you will be 100% secure online but there are steps you can take that will help secure your account, your identity and your personal information.

No matter where you are on Twitter, you can always access your Settings by clicking on your profile picture at the top right and clicking on Settings.

For this video, we will work in the Security and Privacy settings which you can find on the left.

From the top down, you can:

SECURITY

Login Verification

With this, you can add your cellphone number to receive a text code every time you login to your account.

Password Reset

Checking this will require you to enter your personal information before you can reset your password.

Log in with Code

This only works if Login Verification is unchecked. This feature gives you the ability to determine whether or not you will allow Twitter to send you a temporary login code in the event that you have forgotten your password.

Always Require a password means you will not be able to use a temporary code to log in with.

 

PRIVACY

Photo Tagging

This allows you to control who can tag you in photos.

 

Privacy

By default, all tweets are public. Checking this will allow you to make your Tweets private. If you have chosen to Protect your Tweets, you will have to approve Followers and only those who you have approved will be able to see all future Tweets. Keep in mind, Tweets that have been made prior to checking this may still be visible to the public.

 

Tweet Locations

This allows you to add your current location each time you make a Tweet. If you don’t want people knowing your locations, or have accidentally been including your location, you can click on ‘Delete all location information’ and the location on all of your past tweets will be deleted. This may take up to 30 minutes to take effect.

 

Discoverability

This allows/prevents others from being able to find you by searching your email address or phone number.

 

Personalization

Allows/Denies Twitter the abillity to tailor your suggested users to follow based on your website visits.

 

Promoted Content

Allows/Denies Twitter the ability to tailor ads based on information shared by ad partners.

 

Twitter for Teams

Allows you to control whether or not people can add you to their Twitter Teams. (Do you explain what Teams are anywhere?)

 

Direct Messages

This lets you allows anyone to send you a Private Message whether or not you follow them.

 

Once you are happy with your setting, click on ‘Save Changes’.

Twitter Account Settings

Twitter Account Settings

Your Account Settings is where you would go to change your username, your email address, language, time zone and choose what sort of content you want to allow on your timeline.

You can always get to your Account Settings by clicking on your profile picture on the top right and clicking on ‘Settings’.

 

From the top down, you can:

Change your username

Change your email

Change your language

Change your time zone

Change your country

Control what type of information you are exposed to. You can censor Tweets that might contain sensitive media. (**Would it be worthwhile to explain what Twitter considers sensitive? Graphic images? Sexual content? Triggers? This left me a little confused as to what Sensitive Media is considered.)

Control whether or not Twitter automatically plays videos in your Timeline. By unchecking this option, videos will only play if you click on them. Keep in mind, if you are browsing the Moments feed, videos will still automatically play, regardless of your settings.

 

(**Skipped over Timeline, show me the best Tweets first option)

 

Request a Twitter Archive. This will send you an email that contains an archive of a complete list of all of your Tweets on Twitter.

 

Once you are finished, click ‘Save Changes’.

Twitter will prompt you for your account password, then click Save.

 

Finally, if you ever decide to, you can also Deactivate your account at the very bottom of the Settings page.

How to Send a Private Message on Twitter

How to Send a Private Message on Twitter

Private messaging is always nice on any Social Media Platform you are on. It’s a great way to communicate with someone on a more personal level.However, on Twitter you are only allowed to send private messages to those accounts that follow you.

And even though Twitter has private messaging you are still limited in the number of characters like 140 characters that you can send to that person.

There are 2 ways to send a Private Message

 

From the homepage, you can click on the Messages tab to begin a conversation.

Click on send a Direct Message and type in the name of the person you would like to message.

 

Select the person and click ‘Next’.

 

Begin typing your message in the bottom text box.

 

When you are done, click ‘Send’!

 

 

You can also send a Private Message to someone from their profile, but only if that person is following you.

 

 

If you receive a PM or receive a response, you will get a notification in your Messages tab.

What Does Retweeting Mean

What does it mean to Retweet?

By Retweeting a tweet you are doing two things. First you’re letting the person who you are retweeting know that you liked their tweet and wanted your followers to see it and second you’re getting their attention because they are notified any time someone Retweets their tweet.

From your timeline, if you come across a Tweet that you would like to ReTweet (RT) simply click on the ReTweet icon immediately below that Tweet.

 

Before the RT goes out, you have to option of adding your own comment to the RT, but this is optional.

 

Once you are happy with it, click ‘Tweet’.

 

Your RT will now show up in your follower’s timelines, even if they aren’t following the original Tweeter.

Pin It on Pinterest